The Office of Budget and Finance

HUB Certification

In order to be certified, three criteria must be met: 

  • Must be a U.S. citizen.
  • Must be a for-profit entity that has not exceeded the size standard prescribed by 34 TAC §20.294 and has its principal place of business in Texas.
  • Is at least 51 percent owned by an Asian Pacific American, Black American, Hispanic American, Native American, American woman and /or a Service Disabled Veteran with a Service related disability of 20% or greater, who resides in Texas and actively participates in the control, operations and management of the entity’s affairs.

Certified HUBs are designated in the Centralized Master Bidders List (CMBL), which is used by state agencies (including UT Dallas) when searching for HUB suppliers. This does not guarantee business, but visibility in the CMBL is a major advantage.

A business owner must complete a HUB Certification Application and submit it to the Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA). HUB certification is free and remains effective for four years.

HUB Certification Checklists: